University of Pittsburgh


Winners of the 2011-2012 Creative Writing Awards

Turow-Kinder Award for Fiction

Judge: Ron Carlson

First Place: Jonathan Gotsick for “Wing Woman”

Second Place: Tyler McAndrew for “Happy Birthday”

Third Place: J.A. Howard for “Our Father the Magician, Our Father the Tornado”

Honorable Mention: Stephanie Wilson for “Compartments”


Montgomery Culver Prize for Fiction

Judge: Josh Barkan

Winner: Nina Sabak for “A Drowning Girl’s Guide to Water”


Taube Award for Fiction

Judges: Myron Taube, Allison Amend, & Ryan McDermott

First Place: Lori Stover for “Dust,” “Mother,”  & “Take Care”

Second Place: Nicholas Dyll for “Blood, Smoke, & Silicon”

Third Place: Ryan Beaupit for “D Sharp,” “Marcus Elridge,” & “The First Snow Winter” 


Academy of American Poets/Graduate Poetry Award

Judge: Wayne Koestenbaum

First Place: Amanda Brant for “Instead of This” & “Breaking Open”

Second Place: Lauren Russell for “The Chess Players” & “Dream-Clung, Gone”

Third Place: Avery Thomas for “Stay at Home” &   “Wildlife in the Living Room”


Undergraduate Poetry Award

Judge: Joy Katz

First Place: Melissa Dias-Mandoly for “Etc.,” “Between” & “Gender Gentrification”

Second Place: Savonna Johnson for “Before Falling out the Window”

Third Place: Caily Grube for “Song of the Thing Fucked”

Honorable Mentions: Jarrett Eakins for “Afternoon Song”; Sarah Geisler for “What is History” & Can you Change This?”; Peter Webb for “Instructions for Seven Suspects of a Murder Mystery Dinner, Where I Am the Murdered Man” 


Melissa Difatta Award for Nonfiction

Judge: Reid Frazier

First Place: Emily O’Donnell for “The Dying of Brightness”

Second Place: Rachel Grozanick for “On Leave”

Third Place: Mandy Velez for “A Vicious Cycle” 


Graduate Award for Nonfiction:  

Judge: Michael Meyer

First Place: Nicole Carroll for “Transitional”

Second Place: Maria Sholtis for “Red Shack”


We extend our heartfelt thanks to all participating writers, to writing instructors, to judges, and to the generous sponsors who make these awards possible.

Revised 09/20/2021
| Copyright 2014-2018 | Send feedback about this site