University of Pittsburgh


Undergraduate Writing Awards

The Writing Program administers four undergraduate writing awards: The Melissa Difatta Undergraduate Nonfiction AwardThe Taube Award in Fiction, and the Academy of American Poets Undergraduate Award. Scroll down for award guidelines. See the Award Winners page for previous prize recipients.

The Melissa Difatta Undergraduate Nonfiction Award 

Prizes totaling $200 will be awarded for a first, second, and third place nonfiction manuscript written by an undergraduate student enrolled in a nonfiction course at Pitt during the 2018-19 academic year. 

The Taube Award in Fiction

Prizes totalling $1000 will be awarded for a first, second and third place fiction piece written by a Pitt undergraduate student. 

Academy of American Poets Undergraduate Award

A $100 prize, plus a $50 membership from the Academy of American Poets, will be awarded for a poem written by a Pitt undergraduate student. Students may submit up to three poems. 

To submit your work, go to

For more information, contact 

Revised 12/18/2021
| Copyright 2014-2018 | Send feedback about this site